THE SIXTEENTH OF JUNE by Maya Lang in conversation with Rebecca Makkai

 Praise for Maya Lang’s debut novel, 

The Sixteenth of June

 

A triumph.”

—Helen Schulman, New York Times bestselling author of This Beautiful Life

 

“A perfect book for fans of Jonathan Tropper, Meg Wolitzer and, yes, James Joyce.”

—The Star Tribune

 

“The language is lovely, the insights heartfelt. We care deeply for these people and by the end of the novel we want to say Yes to Stephen, Yes to Leopold, Yes to Nora, and the biggest Yes of all to Maya Lang.”

—David Gilbert, author of & Sons


“You need not have read Ulysses to savor The Sixteenth of June. Maya Lang’s debut novel refracts the notoriously challenging classic with the expertise of a Joycean scholar, but its accessible 21st-century pleasures are all its own: an insightful portrait of the postmodern family, written with grace, humor, and compassion.”

—Teddy Wayne, author of The Love Song of Jonny Valentine

Join us as we welcome Maya Lang, author of the exciting new release The Sixteenth of June. Loosely based on James Joyce’s now infamous Ulysses, Lang’s story follows three siblings as they encounter lovers, friends, and family throughout the course of a single day. In great Irish tradition, the book opens with a funeral and ends with a party. Lang was a finalist for Glimmer Train’s Short Story Award for New Writers and The Sixteenth of June is a Bookish Pick for Best Summer Fiction of 2014. This is her first full-length novel.

 

Lang will be in conversation with Rebecca Makkai, Chicago-based author of The Borrower.  Makkai is a regular contributor to Harper’s and the Wall Street Journal.  She teaches at Lake Forest College and StoryStudio Chicago.  Her second novel, The Hundred-Year House, is due out in July. 

 

Event date: 
Saturday, June 7, 2014 - 5:00pm
Event address: 
2523 N. Kedzie Blvd.
60647 Chicago
us
The Sixteenth of June: A Novel Cover Image
Email teresa@citylitbooks.com or call for price at 773-235-2523
ISBN: 9781476745749
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Scribner - June 3rd, 2014