In Conversation: Laura Holtz, Author of Warm Transfer, and Author/Coach Sara Connell

Join us for a conversation with authors Laura Holtz and Sarah Connell as they share share their personal stories - two women and mothers, with little time to write, who went from idea to published books...even to Oprah! They will also share tips from Sara's coaching program “How to Write A Book in 12 Weeks”.  Some key points:

  • Why 200 million people in America want to write a book but few actually do.
  • How to take a book idea to successful book concept.
  • How to move past self-doubt, procrastination and overwhelm- and start writing.
  • A three-step roadmap they believe will ensure you finish your book.   
  •  How authors can use writing books as a way to give back to causes that transform our planet.
  • Why they believe if you have a calling to write, the world needs to hear your message.

Laura Holtz will also read from and discuss her new novel. Warm Transfer that breaks into the new media landscape forged by the #MeToo movement with a story of self-discovery, newfound joy and reinvention.

Ten percent of the profits from Warm Transfer are being donated by Holtz to The Rape, Abuse & Incest National Network (RAINN).

My aim in sharing Tamsen’s story is to expose readers to partner abuse, and to how this insidious form of torture can render its victims self-blaming and confused,” shares Holtz. “Should a reader find themselves in a verbally or emotionally abusive situation, in reading my protagonist’s tale, I hope they can find validation, clarity, or maybe even a tiny fragment of help.” “I would also like the book to stir in women an awareness of situations or events in their lives that might have been passed off as ‘nothing’ when, in fact, these events were highly charged with an imbalance of power,” she continues. A dazzling work of fiction that investigates themes both timely and timeless, Warm Transfer is a not-to-be missed spring 2018 release for fans of Liane Moriarty’s Big Little Lies, Lauren Weisberger’s The Devil Wears Prada, and anyone interested in unconventional romance, moments that transport us to the glamorous upper echelon of society, and all-around great storytelling.

Chicago native Laura Holtz published her debut novel Warm Transfer in May 2018.  When she is not writing, she is assembling college care packages for her eldest son, shuttling her middle guy to the climbing gym, or running lines with her daughter for an upcoming middle school play.  After earning her undergraduate degree from Northwestern University, Laura spent a decade in sales promotion.  When she left the corporate world to raise her children, she remained creatively active with various freelance copywriting endeavors. Laura composed the book and lyrics for her original musical Gatecrashers, which was a finalist in the Ball State University Discovery New Musical Theatre Festival.  Laura enjoyed a 2013 artistic residency at Ragdale in Lake Forest, IL.

Learn more about Laura Holtz at LauraHoltz.com.

 

Sara Connell is an author and writing coach with a private practice in Chicago. She has been featured on The Oprah Winfrey Show, Good Morning America, The View, FOX Chicago, NPR, and Katie Couric. She has presented at many Fortune 500 companies such as Estee Lauder, GE, Unilever, Johnson & Johnson and Young President's Organization. She has taught-presented also at Printer’s Row Literary Festival, Open Books, Northwestern Summer Writer's Conference and teaches regularly at Story Studio Chicago. Her writing has appeared in: The New York Times, Tri-Quarterly, Good Housekeeping, Parenting, Schlock, Psychobabble. Her first book Bringing In Finn was nominated for ELLE magazine 2012 Book of the Year.  Sara is a graduate of Northwestern University.

 

 

Event date: 
Tuesday, July 17, 2018 - 6:30pm
Event address: 
City Lit Books
2523 N. Kedzie Blvd.
Chicago, IL 60647
Warm Transfer Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781642371376
Availability: Out of stock, usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Gatekeeper Press - May 29th, 2018