Hockey in Portland (Hardcover)

Hockey in Portland Cover Image
Ships in 1-5 Days


Portland, Oregon, has an old and rich hockey tradition. The City of Roses was home to six professional hockey teams that took the ice in fi ve different leagues, including two major league clubs. It all started with the Rosebuds (1914-1918), who earned the distinction of being the fi rst United
States-based team to compete for the Stanley Cup. The
tradition continued with a second version of the Rosebuds (1925-1926), the original Buckaroos (1928-1931), a second version of the Buckaroos (1933-1941), the Eagles/Penguins (1944-1951), and the Western Hockey League (WHL) Buckaroos (1960-1974). The WHL Buckaroos won three Patrick Cup titles and iced several minor league hockey legends, including Gordon Fashoway, Guyle Fielder, Don Head, Andy Hebenton, Norm Johnson, Art Jones, Connie Madigan, and Bill Saunders. Several Hockey Hall of Famers--Tommy Dunderdale, George Hay, Dick Irvin, and Moose Johnson--also spent time on Portland teams.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781531629540
ISBN-10: 1531629547
Publisher: Arcadia Publishing Library Editions
Publication Date: August 15th, 2007
Pages: 130
Language: English