April is here and our book clubs are ready for spring!

Body: 

 

If you don’t know about the book clubs we host at City Lit, now is a good time to get involved. We currently have 4 book clubs that meet once a month, each hosted by one of our booksellers right here in our store – and they are all pretty great. The book clubs, that is. I guess the booksellers are ok, too.

No obligations, no sign up required, just grab your copy here and we’ll give you a discount, then come hang out with us and talk about the book! Here’s what we have coming up in April:

First up is the Wilde Readers Book Club, a reading group focusing on LGBTQ lit, classic and contemporary, and this month’s pick is Giovanni’s Room by James Baldwin. Set in the 1950s Paris of American expatriates, liaisons, and violence, a young man finds himself caught between desire and conventional morality. With a sharp, probing imagination, James Baldwin's now-classic narrative delves into the mystery of loving and creates a moving, highly controversial story of death and passion that reveals the unspoken complexities of the human heart. Wilde Readers will meet Tuesday 4/11 at 6:30pm.

 

Next is the Weird & Wonderful Book Club, Our monthly celebration of the weird—be it science fiction, speculative fiction, fantasy, magical realism, or any genre otherwise strange! This month they are reading Magic for Beginners by Kelly Link, a favorite author of host Travis. Perfect for readers of George Saunders, Karen Russell, Neil Gaiman, and Aimee Bender, Magic for Beginners is an exquisite, dreamlike dispatch from a virtuoso storyteller who can do seemingly anything. Kelly Link reconstructs modern life through an intoxicating prism, conjuring up unforgettable worlds with humor and humanity. These stories are at once ingenious and deeply moving. They leave the reader astonished and exhilarated. Weird & Wonderful will meet Wednesday 4/12 at 6:30pm.

 

After that is the Found in Translation Book Club, where each month we dive into fresh English translations of stand-out fiction from around the world. Things We Lost in the Fire by Mariana Enriquez is April’s book, a recent favorite of Travis and host Devon. An arresting collection of short stories, reminiscent of Shirley Jackson and Julio Cortazar, by an exciting new international talent. Macabre, disturbing, and exhilarating, Things We Lost in the Fire is a collection of short stories that use fear and horror to explore multiple dimensions of life in contemporary Argentina. From women who set themselves on fire in protest of domestic violence; to angst-ridden teenage girls, friends until death do they part; from street kids and social workers, young women bored of their husbands or boyfriends, to a nine-year-old serial killer of babies; and from a girl who pulls out her nails and eyelids in the classroom, to hikikomori, abandoned houses, black magic, northern Argentinean superstition, disappearances, crushes, heartbreak, regret, and compassion, this is a strange, surreal, and unforgettable collection that asks vital questions of the world as we know it. If the description hasn’t scared you off, meet with the Found in Translation Book Club Thursday 4/20 at 6:30pm.

 

Our last book club meeting this month will be In Brief, a club to explore a collection of short stories from writers new and established. April’s pick is A Good Man is Hard to Find by Flannery O’Connor. In 1955, with this short story collection, Flannery O'Connor firmly laid claim to her place as one of the most original and provocative writers of her generation. Steeped in a Southern Gothic tradition that would become synonymous with her name, these stories show O'Connor's unique, grotesque view of life--infused with religious symbolism, haunted by apocalyptic possibility, sustained by the tragic comedy of human behavior, confronted by the necessity of salvation. Through these classic stories--including "The Life You Save May Be Your Own," "Good Country People," "The Displaced Person," and seven other acclaimed tales--O'Connor earned a permanent place in the hearts of American readers. Join In Brief on Tuesday 4/25 at 6:30pm.

We’re pretty excited about our book club picks for April, and hope you’ll join us! Remember – all our book club books come with a 10% discount!

Giovanni's Room Cover Image
$14.00
ISBN: 9780345806567
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Vintage Books - September 12th, 2013

Magic for Beginners Cover Image
By Kelly Link, Shelley Jackson (Illustrator)
$16.00
ISBN: 9780812986518
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House Trade - July 1st, 2014

Things We Lost in the Fire: Stories Cover Image
$24.00
ISBN: 9780451495112
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Hogarth Press - February 21st, 2017

A Good Man Is Hard to Find and Other Stories Cover Image
$13.95
ISBN: 9780156364652
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Mariner Books - August 23rd, 1977